Tigers Grab Eight First Place Finishes at District Meet

By Mike Tooley

HERALD Publisher

The HSHS Tiger track team may not have many players, but they walked away with eight first place finishes at the District 3-3A track and field meet held in Cobre Friday afternoon, May 4.

Tessa Jones and Sarai Clendenin were the pride of the Tigers, with five, first place finishes between them, with Jones capturing three and Clendenin two, respectively.

Jones had her best ever toss in the shot put event, putting the shot 35’5”. She cleared the bar in the high jump at 4’ 11” for a first place finish and then threw the discus 90’8” for her third gold of the meet.

Clendenin is in a league of her own when it comes to the distance runs. She ran away from the field in the 1600 meters and the 3200 meters. Her time in the 1600 meters was 6:03.3 and in the 3200 meters she clocked in at 13:16.1.

Also scoring points for the Tiger ladies was Marissa Aguirre, who finished third in the pole vault at 7’ and placed seventh in the 400-meter run with a time of 1:12.6.

Kaitlyn Pierson cleared the bar at 4’8” in the high jump for a fourth place finish. She qualified in an earlier meet for State competition.

Nikki Marr rounded out the final scoring for the Tiger ladies with a sixth place finish in the javelin with a throw of 77’9”.

The girls’ 1600-sprint medley relay team scored a fourth place finish with a time of 6:26.0.

Owen Harrison surprised the field in the 100 meters with a first place finish in the boys’ division with a time of 10.9, and had a career best in the long jump with a leap of 20’3” to capture the gold in that event. Harrison tied for second place in the high jump, clearing the bar at 5’6” and finished third in the 200 meters with a time of 23.25.

Zerod Underwood will join the team at the state meet, capturing first place in the pole vault, clearing the bar at 11’6.5”.

In all, the Tigers will be represented by five athletes at the state meet: Sarai Clendenin, Tessa Jones and Kaitlyn Pierson in the girls’ division; and Owen Harrison and Zerod Underwood in the boys’ division.


Comments are closed.


Sabre Design

Website Developed by Sabre Design

wordpress statistics
%d bloggers like this: